The 24 hours since I became unemployed

I quit a job without another lined up yesterday for the first time in my life and to be honest I have no idea what to do.

I didn’t like my boss. I didn’t like the company I worked for. The job was ok but the career was one I fell into. It wasn’t based on passion. I mean, who is passionate about purchasing? I don’t see many seven year olds saying to their parents “Mummy, Daddy, when I grow up I want to be a BUYER!” When I was seven I wanted to be a mermaid but unfortunately, I realised that was a no go and that was the day my childhood died. But I digress…

The last 24 hours have been weird. In order, the below is what I have done:

  • Got fired (obviously)
  • Rolled my eyes about it
  • Laughed
  • Felt Relieved
  • Got excited
  • Broke to the news to my Mum and Sister who were wonderfully supportive
  • Broke the news to my boyfriend who was even more wonderfully supportive
  • Got scared
  • Worried
  • Snapped at my boyfriend
  • Got snapped at by my boyfriend (ok, I probably deserved it)
  • Cried (only a little)
  • Slept (again, only a little)
  • Stared into space

I am a little lost right now. Without sounding too dramatic, I feel like my life has no direction, no purpose and that’s crazy because your job is NOT your life. Your family, friends, partners, pets, home, experiences, dreams, hopes, ambitions… those are your life. Not some job that you never really cared about anyway.

However, I do believe that work is a key part needed by most, including myself, to accomplish well rounded life. I am 27 with my own home. I have bills to pay and a fish and rabbit to keep well fed. Those little guys need me so I will be getting back out there but this time, I will not grab the first thing that comes my way. I will not “fall” into something because it’s well paying and I am half decent at it. I made that mistake once, never again.

I like to write. I find it soothing. Writing this blog post is my way of dealing with my feelings and also something to do to fill the gaping 40 hour hole I now have in my week. So, join me on my literary account of unemployment and (hopefully) my road to genuine, happy, leaping out of bed in the morning because I love it so much employment. It’ll be fun… I think?

9 thoughts on “The 24 hours since I became unemployed

Leave a Reply

