Bored out

Just a short one… I read an interesting BBC News article a couple of weeks back while still employed which I related to much more than I should have.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-36195442

It summed up how I felt perfectly; BORED. I was tired, robbed of my enthusiasm by the mundane monotony of my job. It gave me great comfort knowing that I wasn’t alone but only now, since I quit and the future is uncertain, has my lust for life returned. I have always enjoyed the occasional spanner in the works. It makes me feel alive! When everything is running smooth or too easily I become complacent, vegetative and about as much use as a chocolate teapot.

The book mentioned, The Upside of Downtime: Why Boredom is Good by Dr Sandi Mann, is  on my Birthday/Christmas list! Out of boredom, this blog was born so Sandi is definitely on to something.

If you feel bored or frustrated or simply not happy, don’t waste a minute more of your time or energy. Plan. Research. Retrain. Quit. I don’t care what you do, just do something to make a change. Your mental health is at stake.

You can do it. I believe in you.. and so does this hedgehog.

FdqTMCz

10 thoughts on “Bored out

      1. Thanks for the comment on Short Girl Reaching. I was wondering, if you have time would you mind checking out one of the short stories? I’m trying a promote then a bit but I’m not having much luck. Feel free to say no if you’re busy.

        Like

Leave a Reply

