I heard it through the grape vine…

Gossip is an ugly, UGLY thing. The only thing worse than participating in such a grotesque activity is knowing you are the current talk of the town, or in my case office.

Since I left on Friday, my thoughts have often strayed to “What will they say? What will they think?!” But thankfully they quickly returned to “Who gives a flying f*ck?”

A few years ago when I was slightly younger and arguably a lot less wiser, I started dating a co-worker (I know, I know, what a dumbass). I quickly got bored of him and dumped him and to cut a long story short he tried to ruin me. He was a classy guy and emailed the whole company saying what a massive bitch I was and included a list of nasty things I had supposedly said about many of my colleagues.

To say I was mortified is an understatement. I thought I was going to lose my job. I couldn’t eat. I couldn’t sleep. I spent endless nights worrying about what people were saying.

I never lost my job. Luckily my reputation went before me and they did not believe this mad man. But people did talk about it… then they stopped talking about it… and after a couple of weeks it was old news and everyone was onto the next juicy scandal. It still stung though to know that details of my private life were being discussed openly and probably twisted into a worse version of reality.

When people indulge in gossip, you must remember that it says more about them as a person than it does about you. These people are poisonous with pathetic little lives that are so dull they need to talk about yours to make their days more bearable. We should pity them really but let’s not, because they’re idiots who don’t deserve it.

So are people talking about me at my old office? Probably. Do I care? No. Am I going to keep being awesome and refrain from gossip? Absolutely and I implore you all to do the same.

And remember…

2 thoughts on “I heard it through the grape vine…

Leave a Reply

