Work to live. Don’t live to work.

I’m a very fortunate person who has seen a lot of what the world has to offer but I always want to see more. I’m currently sat at my kitchen table, taking a break from trawling the internet for job vacancies, wishing I was anywhere but here.

At this moment in time, I am young and energetic with the gift of bountiful free time but limited finances to fund an exciting trip to a far away place. Soon I will be older, with a job that earns me money but saps my energy and leaves me with not much time to enjoy the fruits of my labour.

My Father was a hard working man. I say was because he sadly passed away five years ago. He had a long, successful career in engineering and made sacrifices to make sure we never went without. When he retired at 57, he thought he had all the time in the world to enjoy what he had earned. He died a year later aged only 58. Life sometimes just isn’t fair.

Watching this all play out reinforced in me the importance of a good work life balance. Yes, it sucks to have no job and no money to do fun things… but it also sucks to work tirelessly and never take a break once in a while to really enjoy yourself. One day, it’ll all be over and when you’re staring death in the face, will you really say “I wish I’d worked a bit harder”? Spoiler Alert – No, you won’t.

The goal for me right now while I have all this time is to find a job I love so I never have to work again… so if you see any professional cheese taster vacancies, please let me know 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Work to live. Don’t live to work.

  1. It’s all about finding a happy medium, which is easy said than done! I also don’t have a job at the moment so I know how you feel. Just on a side note, if you get employed in the cheese tasting sector then but in a good word for me!! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

