Under the bludgeonings of chance, My head is bloody, but unbowed.

This week has been a rollercoaster. I’ve experienced excitement, then despair. Confidence, then doubt. Happiness, then worry. Sometimes all within the same minute!

Because I like to write, it’s almost a given that I like to read. Below are three of my favourite short poems from which I have drawn strength in this uncertain time. If you have read them before, please enjoy them again. If you haven’t, then I hope you love them as much as I do.

Invictus by William Ernest Henley

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds and shall find me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate,
I am the captain of my soul.

The Fur by Iain Thomas (Fun Fact: This is often wrongly attributed to Kurt Vonnegut)

Be soft.
Do not let the world make you hard.
Do not let the pain make you hate.
Do not let the bitterness steal your sweetness.
Take pride that even though the rest of the world may disagree,
You still believe it to be a beautiful place.

http://www.iwrotethisforyou.me/

Who are you, really? by Madisen Kuhn

who are you,
really?

you are not a name
or a height, or a weight
or a gender
you are not an age
and you are not where you
are from

you are your favorite books
and the songs stuck in your head
you are your thoughts
and what you eat for breakfast
on saturday mornings

you are a thousand things
but everyone chooses
to see the million things
you are not

you are not
where you are from
you are
where you’re going
and i’d like
to go there
too

http://hellopoetry.com/madisen-kuhn/

Leave a Reply

