8 things to do when you’re unemployed

Well, week one of unemployment is over and if you’re in the same situation as me, here are some things you can do to pass the time.

  1. Panic. Panic fiercely. Your life is crumbling around you. WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO?! AAAAARRRGH.
  2. Dwell. Think about all the wrong decisions you made to get to this point. Think about all the money you wasted on absolute crap which you should have put in your savings. You’re an idiot, a total idiot.
  3. Be in denial. Everything is fiiiine. It’s all fiiiine. Who needs money? Money is just a concept created by the man to keep you all in line. You don’t need it. You can go live in the woods if it comes to it.
  4. Stay inside. If you go outside, people with eyes might see you doing non work stuff between the hours of 9 and 5 and know you are unemployed. Oh the shame. Never leave the house ever again. EVER.
  5. Sit on your arse and do nothing. What is the point of even trying? If you try, you’ll only fail again so don’t bother. Just sit and rot.
  6. Sleep. Might as well sleep away the days like the lowlife you are. **Optional** dream about all your problems being solved by you winning the lottery, you lazy bugger. 
  7. Don’t talk to anyone. They might ask a question like “How is your job going?” and you don’t want to tell them you don’t have one. You’re not a loser and only losers don’t have jobs.
  8. Give up all hope. Admit defeat and accept the inevitable, you will never be a contributing member of society ever again. Don’t fight it, it’s pointless.

Ok, so the previous eight suggestions were slightly, ok hugely, tongue in cheek. While it might be tempting to do all of these things, I wouldn’t recommend it. Why not do the below instead?

  1. Stay calm. I know it can feel like a hopeless position to be in but trust me, it’s not. Are you alive? Yes? Then it’s not the end of your world. Worrying is the most pointless exercise and gets you nowhere so try to relax.
  2. Don’t dwell. Lady Macbeth is hardly a person whose advice you should follow but Shakespeare was onto something when he wrote these lines for her – “Things without all remedy should be without regard. What’s done is done.” Should you have bought that novelty tea cosy for £15 eight years ago? No, probably not, but you had no idea this was what your future held. Don’t beat yourself up. You are where you are so start making smart decisions regarding money and your career from now onwards.
  3. Deal with your emotions. Maybe you should cry. Or get angry if that’s more your style. You need to process how you’re feeling about unemployment and perhaps the circumstances around why you left your last job. Don’t let negative energy linger, it’s not good for you.
  4. Go outside. Take a walk. Go on a bike ride. Get some fresh air and get your heart racing. It will help you feel alive, give you an appreciation of the world and it’s a free way to kick the boredom unemployment brings too.
  5. Start a new hobby or revive an old one. At this point, you need things to keep you occupied and keep your mind ticking over. Finish knitting that blanket you started, paint that picture you always meant to, start that blog you wanted to but never had the time for (like me!). You never know, your hobby might be the key to your new business venture and maybe a new career.
  6. Maintain some routine. I know you don’t need to get up at 7.30 anymore but what’s the harm in doing it anyway? Achieve something worthwhile every day… even if it’s just cleaning your bathroom or weeding the garden. It’ll keep you in the right mind frame for when employment does come your way again.
  7. Reach out to people. You don’t need to be embarrassed about your situation. Bad things happen to good people sometimes. At this point more than ever you need support from your nearest and dearest and you need to network. Again, you never know who could lead you to the next job. It’s not about what you know, it’s who you know.
  8. Keep the faith. You can do this. Make a plan. What are your next steps? What direction do you went to go in? This is an opportunity to do WHATEVER YOU WANT. Don’t waste it.

To all my fellow unemployed people, this is only temporary, I promise. Feel free to reach out to me if you want to chat. I have a lot of spare time right now and I think we could all use a friend who can relate.

Keep going. You got this!

8 thoughts on “8 things to do when you’re unemployed

  1. Ha! You just read a post from me about unemployment so I thought I’d come check you out. I can totally relate to what you wrote – it’s a difficult position to be in, but there are indeed benefits to it as well. Reviving old hobbies, really figuring out what you want to do (in lieu of just working for money) and going for it… Though you forgot one thing: watch all six seasons of Game of Thrones. I did that! And it was well worth the wait. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m saving GoT for my next post 😉 haha. I stumbled across your post because I follow the unemployed tag on here. I check it out daily to give a little support to whoever I think needs it or just some kind feedback on a great post, like yours. There are no nicer folks than those in the blogging community. They can really give you a boost when you’re feeling low.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Nice, I’ll look forward to reading it then!
        Completely agree on the blogging front. In fact, after I posted mine I even got a friend to connect me with a company he thought could be right for me, which then led to an actual honest-to-goodness job interview! Haven’t got the job yet by a long shot, but it just shows the power of words and how it can spur people into action, because they want to help after reading how you feel about something. I was genuinely so impressed and, well mostly just humbled too.
        I hope things will look up for you soon! Remember that ’tis as you said: temporary only 😉

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the warm welcome.

      I am already noticing blog ideas creep into my mind more and more often. I have even started carrying a notebook to jot down anything that comes to mind when inspiration strikes.

      This is such a lovely community. I’m so glad to be part of it. I just can’t believe it took me so long!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post and it’s reassuring to know that I’m not the only one going through the many worries surrounding unemployment. I just keep reminding myself that I left my most recent job because it drove me into the ground and affected my mental health – what’s next on my journey should hopefully be much better than that.

    Going outside is a big one for me as the fresh air is pretty invigorating. Your advice is spot on! 🙂

    I’m new to blogging myself too but the community feels so welcoming and it really is a refreshing escape from the tangible world. I hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your comment. There are so many of us in the same boat. You are not alone! I left my job for similar reasons. I was miserable, upset and frustrated most days. I just wasn’t happy… simple as that! The uncertainty of unemployment is scary but I am the happiest I have been in months. Everyone close to me says so. And yes the blogging community is so welcoming. I am really enjoying it so far. Best of luck for your next step and if you ever want to chat, about anything at all, you’re welcome stop by my blog any time. Take care out there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

