How to get inspired

I have never been a creative person, really. I am logic personified. I can’t draw, I can’t sing, I can’t play an instrument. Man, writing this down makes me realise that I am so untalented! Moving on…

Inspiration is something that doesn’t strike me often but, pleasantly, it has been paying me a visit more often lately and I fully believe it’s because of this blog. I even carry around a little notepad to write down my ideas like a real, actual, proper writer. You know what they say, fake it ’til you make it.

If you struggle to get your creative juices flowing, I hope the following tips will help you.

Think about the extremes in your life. What do you love more than anything in the world? What do you hate? Question those things. Why do you feel this way? When did you start feeling this way? What would make you change your thoughts? This is an easy way to access memories, hopes, dreams and opinions which lead to more and more and before you know it, you’re down the rabbit hole.

Research people like you. There is no harm in admiring what others are sharing. Don’t copy them because that would suck… but some of my best ideas have been sparked by looking into what other 27 year old UK female bloggers are talking about thinking “I care about that too!”

Ask for feedback on existing work. Brace yourself though because this can be positive but there may be some criticism. Don’t take it too personally. Criticism is good. Conflict is good. It breeds improvement and development. People may be as straightforward as to suggest what they’d like to see from you next or even say something along the lines of “This is great, but have you thought about this…” Just remember it’s all said with best intentions.

Write for the sake of writing. Doodle. Brainstorm. Get that pen to paper or that keyboard tapping. Even if you’re writing gibberish you never know, something may fall together. I often sit down with a vague idea which evolves in front of my very eyes and leads me to places I never would have guessed.

Try again tomorrow. Some days are just not your day. Inspiration is not something that is easily forced. Have you tried all the above and still nothing? Give it up as a bad job, have a cup of tea and come back to it later.

Happy writing… Can you guess I was struggling with inspiration today? Haha.

giphy.gif

Leave a Reply

