The best things in life are free

It was a beautiful summers day here in the uk today. The perfect day for a stroll in the countryside. My mum, sister, niece, nephew and I ventured out to a local country house estate and had a wander around the grounds. We visited the duck pond, sat on the grass and just generally enjoyed the scenery. A lovely time was had by all and we didn’t spend a penny.

When I look back on my career, the best job I’ve ever had was my part time retail job I had throughout college and university. It paid the least but it was fun, varied and never dull.

When I look back on my life, the best times I’ve ever had were with my friends and family, laughing and joking, usually at our house on someone’s birthday or at Christmas time.

I used to think I could do a job I hated and stick it out as long as it paid enough. I was wrong. I don’t want the money. You don’t need the best of everything. You just need to MAKE the best of everything. That is the key to happiness.

20160818_112405.jpg

2 thoughts on “The best things in life are free

  1. I completely agree with what you said about thinking you can do a job you hate, as long as you can pay your bills. Being unemployed is hard, it’s challenging me in ways I never thought possible and it sometimes makes me feel like a loser who seemingly can’t get her act together… But it’s never made me unhappy. Being unemployed has never made me feel mentally and physically sick. It’s never kept me isolated from my friends and family, because facing them with my sad reality was just too hard. However, being in a job that was wrong for me? Oh yeah, it’s done all that and then some.
    Money: it sure is important. But not as important as your ability to smile and have it be genuine. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so right. A job should never steal your happiness. It is simply not worth it. I have felt like such a loser too but never unhappy and never anything like my last job made me feel.

      I am very lucky that I have a wonderful boyfriend who is able to support me through this challenging time and a caring family. I’d be lost without them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

