How to not feel worthless

Today, for no particular reason, I felt like an absolutely worthless piece of crap. I feel like such a fraud. Looking around at all the hardworking people enjoying their Sundays, knowing that tomorrow is another Sunday for me. And the day after that. And the day after that.

BUT… I am not one to dwell. I have spent much of the day trying to lift my spirits with some degree of success so I thought I’d share my tactics with you.

Help someone else. Instead of focusing on how useless you feel, make yourself useful. Today I helped my Mum paint her garden fence. Sure, she could have done it alone but with me she did it in half the time and I got the warm fuzzy feeling of satisfaction because I did a good deed. An honest to god, selfless, good deed. As Ralph Wiggum would say, “I’m helping!”

Have a deep clean. This applies to your living area (when things are tidy, you automatically feel organised and less stressed) and your own body (who doesn’t love a bubble bath and to smell like berries?!) Trust me, it’ll just help you feel like you have your sh*t together… even if you don’t.

Indulge in a guilty pleasure, something you really enjoy! For me, this would be trashy reality tv. Keeping up with the Kardashians, Teen Mom, Catfish, Made in Chelsea, you name it. I love it all. Don’t judge me.

Talk to children – preferably some kids you are related to/know because I don’t want you getting put on some kind of register. Firstly, kids are hilarious. My 3 year old nephew cracks me up and always makes me smile even when I don’t feel like it. Also, they are grounded and simplistic. They say it like it is. The refreshing honesty can help you keep things in perspective and remind you what’s truly important in life.

Channel your negative feelings into productivity. Many of the worlds most beautiful artistic creations were inspired by heartbreak. There is a reason art therapy is a thing, ya know.

Snuggle up. Get cosy. Cuddle your pet, partner, friend… whoever. Well I say whoever, again, choose carefully because don’t forget about those registers I mentioned earlier. I am sure there is some science behind it about hugs being good for you but regardless, you need love right now… so let yourself be loved.

Take a quiet minute to reflect on everything you are grateful for. Not to brag but I have my health, I have a roof over my head, I have food to eat, I have friends and family who love me… the list goes on. You may feel worthless but I promise you are wanted, you are loved and you would be missed terribly by someone if you weren’t around.

Keep your head up, friend. Better times are coming.

6 thoughts on “How to not feel worthless

  1. I TOTALLY get what you are saying and actually had the same issue today. I was supposed to be working on an assignment today for this potential job I could get hired for – the presentation isn’t until Thursday, so I still have plenty of time. But I wanted to “be ahead of schedule” and already do tons of it today.
    And then… I didn’t. I was immobilised by fear and what if what I was doing was wrong and I’m such a loser, I could never complete this the right way…? Sad, unproductive thoughts that creep in for no other reason than to mess with you. Absolutely no point to dwell on them!
    Anyways: tomorrow is another day and I’m thinking it will for sure be loads brighter! 🙂
    Also, not sure if you know about this, but I am using a journal to help me get my act together and feel more positive about the choices I am making. For no other reason than maybe it could help you too, I have this gift code I’d like to share. Feel free to make use of it. I am definitely enjoying my journey with this journal. 🙂 http://dailygreatness.refr.cc/NBZMQDP

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh. Best of luck for Thursday! I will keep my fingers crossed for you. So sorry to hear you have been affected by creeping negativity like me though.

      Those journals looks awesome and I do love me a bit of fancy stationary. Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks! I’m hoping it’ll go well too! 🙂

        And you should definitely look into those journals: I have the standard daily greatness one and it really makes you think in the right way, I feel. The first few pages are all about you, what it is that you really want in life, what makes you excited, what makes you elated… And then it looks into “So now, what are the actions you could take in order to make this a reality? In what sort of time frame could you do it? What could be stopping you?” Genuinely, on top of helping you to visualise your goals, it also helps you in building a solid action plan to meet those goals and every day there’s a bunch of questions to ensure you are on a positive path to change. I think it’s well worth the money, even in our current unemployed status! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I could’ve done with this advice on Friday. Luckily, as of tomorrow, I will have someone/thing to cuddle, but Friday when it all hurt I fell apart. I am not ‘glad’ I am not alone, but it’s comforting to know that I am not the only one who finds that a lot of their self-worth, however much they wish it weren’t the case, is tied to their current employment status.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry, I was a little late with the advice! I was in two minds about posting this as I do try to stay upbeat about things… but reading your post and feeling like I felt today, I decided to publish it.

      It’s important for me to be honest with myself and others. Unemployment is not all fresh starts and new opportunities. It’s also a lot of questioning yourself and your abilities.

      You are most definitely not alone. I sincerely hope you have a loving support network around you in the “real” world… but, if you don’t, I will be here if you ever need someome to speak to about our current crappy situation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

