Once a Buyer, always a Buyer?

Sorry, I didn’t post yesterday. I was too busy getting tearful about the fact the only interview offers I am getting are for the career path I have just veered off from.

I haven’t heard back from the supermarkets, cafes or coffee shops I’ve applied to. They are probably too suspicious to even bother reaching out to me. “Why does a woman with many years experience and professional qualifications want to just quit procurement and work as a barista part time?” Because I just f*cking want to… that’s why.

I’m scared, guys. Scared I have pigeon holed myself and I’m too far down the rabbit hole to back out now.

They say it’s never too late to make a change, that every passing moment is a chance to turn it all around… but I am not so sure.

Not everyone gets to live their dream. Not everyone gets their happy ending. Some people just have to grit their teeth and do what they have to to survive and I think I am one of those people.

Yikes, that was depressing.

9 thoughts on “Once a Buyer, always a Buyer?

  1. Stop being depressing!
    The sun is shining and it’s going to be a gorgeous summer day! I get that you’re afraid that changing jobs (more like industries) is not going to work out, but all you need is ONE coffee shop happy to employ you, out of the thousands of coffee shops out there. Seems like the odds are in your favour, no?
    Get smilin’ and buck up! It’s never too late to drastically change what you do for a living and find happiness πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I am most definitely NOT positive all the time. In fact, I am currently waiting on a couch to finalise my JSA claim – something which I’d been stalling on for a few weeks, in the hopes I’d get a job instead. Asking for benefits, like I didn’t think I was a charity case already! :’)
        But I can do two things: either be really depressed about – which isn’t going to help anyone, least of all me. Or I can be happy regardless of it – which I very much prefer πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You are so right. I haven’t claimed benefits yet either. I have an amount in my mind and once my account gets to near that level, I will be paying the JSA people a visit. I have been a tax payer for years… I’d be silly not to claim it really!

        Like

      3. Yeah my claim just failed… Apparently mine was contribution-based instead of income-based (only been in the UK for 2 years and apparently they also look at tax year 2013-2014 when I was still a student), but in order to change it to income-based I need to take a residency test (I’m from Belgium) on Friday… Except my parents have begged me forever to come visit them, as I haven’t been home and/or seen them since Easter. This weekend is my aunt’s 60th birthday and they are paying for my train tickets home, which don’t come cheap. I’m leaving Thursday eve and coming back bank holiday Monday: it’s a blitzvisit and my mom is taking the day off on Friday especially for me… So obviously I’m not around to take that residence test. But I also can’t do it next week apparently, because “my claim was opened last week Thursday and it can only stay open for 7 days, then it automatically closes if it’s not finished and you have to start over”.
        So I thanked the man for wasting my time, as this is really shite? Like, if I’m not miffed about missing a week (which is max. Β£70, not exactly life-changing) so why should they be? “Ah no, procedure and al that.” I feel like I stepped into a novel by Gogol with sad bureaucratics… :/

        Like

      4. Oh no! I am so sorry to hear that 😦 I guess you will just have to try again after your trip. How annoying!

        I hope you have a lovely time visiting family. I have always wanted to go to Belgium… they do a mini cruise from Hull (about 30 minutes from where I live) to Bruges which I would love to go on when I am earning again!

        Like

  2. It’s always really hard getting rejected; job after job, you constantly thinking that it’s the one, but it only takes ONE company to accept you and realise that you are exactly what they are looking for; someone hard-working, eager to do what they need, and happy to learn new skills and you’re set. I am suffering the same, people see my CV and see Techy (they ignore the English Lit degree and the website design)…Eventually it will happen. JSA applications are depressing, mine is still in progress after 4 weeks.

    Like

    1. You’re right. Just one company… it’s harder than it sounds though.

      CVs are just frustrating in general. How can you guage a person fully based on 2 sides of A4? I almost feel sorry for the businesses that have let me slip through their fingers because my CV didn’t do me justice haha.

      4 weeks?! That is a long time. I really thought it’s be a quick process. How naΓ―ve of me.

      Like

      1. I agree with you 100%. I always write a detailed cover letter, but have been told by countless people that cover letters aren’t always read, which makes me wonder why I spend up to 90 minutes writing one sometimes.

        I know it’s hard, really I do. I have been unemployed since the beginning of July, have been |..| that close to getting a job and then been told that I was pipped to the post by someone who was just that little bit more what they were looking for. I actually cried on Friday because I had been so sure that the job I interviewed for was mine! You just have to keep at it – someone will see the potential and know that you are exactly what they are looking for, looking beyond the CV that shows little about who you are and what you are capable of.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

